According to ANN, the Washington State Young Adult Review Group (WSYARG) has nominated volume one of Death Note for the 2008 Evergreen Young Adult Book Award.

From Yaoi Suki comes the annual Yaoi Awards. In '06-'07 Yaoi Awards: Part I, the winners are:

  • Best Seme: Yuuichi Hajizume, Scandalous Seiryo University
  • Best Uke: Yuuichi Hajizume, Scandalous Seiryo University
  • Couple We'd Break Up: Shirou and Fujimaru, Midaresomenishi
  • Read On Mute: Pleasure Dome

Also announced is a contest in conjunction with this year's Yaoi-Con called Yaoi-Con Bingo.

Nominees of the 11th Japan Media Arts Festival has been announced, manga nominated for the award include:

  • Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru by Masakazu Ishiguro
  • Kayo-chan no Nimotsu by Sumako Kari
  • Aria by Kozue Amano
  • Yasashii C++ Part 2 by Takahiro Yonemura
  • Chimuchimu Parade by Shiho Suzuki

According to this press release, the first recipient of Inoue Takehiko's Slam Dunk Scholarship has been announced:

Mr. Inoue is at SKS from Oct. 7 – 11 accompanying Narito Namizato, the finalist in Mr. Inoue's Slam Dunk Scholarship competition which awards a full academic and sports scholarship to South Kent School to the top 17 – 18 year old basketball player in Japan.

The final phase of the competition is the South Kent admission interview and evaluation. Upon successful completion of this phase Narito will attend South Kent starting in the spring term of 2008.

According to Okazu, the manga Yuri Monogatari was nominated for this year's Lambda Book Award:

[...] Yuri Monogatari 3 was nominated for this year's Lambda Book Award from the Lambda Literary Foundation, the country’s leading organization for LGBT literature. While YM3 did not win, merely being nominated is a tremendous honor!

Source: MangaBlog

ANN reports that Scott McCloud's Making Comics: Storytelling Secrets of Comics, Manga, and Graphic Novels has won the 2007 Quill Award in the Graphic Novel Category. A list of the winners can be found here.

According to The Beat, the winners of the 2007 Harvey Award were announced late last week. Yoshihiro Tatsumi's manga Abandon the Old in Tokyo tied with Moomin for "The Best American Edition of Foreign Material" Award. ICv2 also has a report.

The winners of the 38th Seiun Award (Nebula Award), one of the most famous Japanese science fiction awards, have been announced during the 65th World Science Fiction Convention & the 46th Japan Science Fiction Convention. Hitoshi Ashinano's Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou won in the Comics Category. Other entries in the category were Death Note, Busou Renkin, Karakuri Circus, and Yousei-koku no Kishi.

A complete English list of winners has been provided by Science Fiction Awards Watch:

Read More »

From AoD's Matthew Alexander comes an interview with Eijiro Shimada, Editor-in-Chief of Morning and its sister magazine Morning 2, and Yukari Shiina of (specialized in non-Japanese manga), who talk about Kodansha's 2nd Morning International Manga Competition (M.I.M.C.).

topComiAsia, the leading Social Network Site for Comic Fans and Artists, has won the coveted "Red Herring 100 Asia" award. This recognizes the top 100 innovative technology firms in Asia.

Accepting the award at the Red Herring Asia 2007 conference in Hong Kong, Steve Melhuish, CEO of ComiAsia said, "We are delighted and proud to be selected for this prestigious award. This recognizes the success and hard work of the team to date. It is further endorsement of the only multi-platform comic-focused social network that ComiAsia is creating for passionate comic fans and aspiring artists everywhere."

Read More »