Featuring A Reader's Choice Vote And Exciting Contest In Partnership With MYX!

San Francisco, CA, January 24, 2008 – VIZ Media, LLC (VIZ Media), one of the entertainment industry's most innovative and comprehensive publishing, animation and licensing companies, has announced that its Third Annual SHOJO BEAT Music Awards Issue features a reader's choice vote and a new, exclusive contest in conjunction with MYX, the first and only music lifestyle channel focused on the Asian American market. The February issue, on sale at retail outlets now, offers a host of new surprises and exciting editorial content sure to delight even the most discriminating fan.

Read More »

VANCOUVER January 23, 2008 - The Producers of the Canadian Awards for the Electronic and Animated Arts announced the Final Nominees for their 2nd Annual Elan Awards yesterday at a press and industry conference at the elegant Sutton Place Hotel. This year's awards show will be hosted by the charismatic and hilarious Seth MacFarlane ("Family Guy", "American Dad") at the Centre in Vancouver for the Performing Arts on February 15th.

Read More »

The nominees, chosen from manga released in 2007, for the 2008 Manga Taisho (Manga Grand Prize) have been announced:

  • Umi Machi Diary 1 Semishigure no Yamugoro by Akimi Yoshida
  • Ooku by Fumi Yoshinaga
  • Gaku by Shinichi Ishitsuka
  • Kinou Nani Tabeta? by Fumi Yoshinaga
  • Kimi ni Todoke by Karuho Shiina
  • Koukoku no Shugosha by Daisuke Sato and Yu Ito
  • Tomehanetsu! Suzusato Koukou Shodoubu by Katsutoshi Kawai
  • Natsume Yuujinchou by Yuki Midorikawa
  • Himawari -Ken'ichi Legend- by Akiko Higashimura
  • Flower of Life by Fumi Yoshinaga
  • Moyashimon by Masayuki Ishikawa
  • Yotsuba&! by Kiyohiko Azuma

Source: Anime! Anime!

The winners of the 53rd Shogakukan Manga Awards have been announced.

Keshikasu-kunChildren's Category:
- Keshikasu-kun by Noriyuki Murase
Serialized in CoroCoro Comic (Shogakukan)

Diamond no AceBoys' Category:
- Diamond no Ace (Ace of Diamonds) by Yuuji Terajima
Serialized in Weekly Shonen Magazine (Kodansha)

Boku no Hatsukoi wo Kimi ni SasaguGirls' Category:
- Boku no Hatsukoi wo Kimi ni Sasagu by Kotomi Aoki
Serialized in Sho-Comi (Shogakukan)

KurosagiGeneral Category:
- Kurosagi by Takeshi Natsuhara (Story) and Kuromaru (Art)
Serialized in Weekly Young Sunday (Shogakukan)

Bambino!General Category:
- Bambino! by Sekiya Tetsuji
Serialized in Big Comic Spirits (Shogakukan)

Read More »

Nominees for this year's Angoulême International Comics Festival have been announced, and Precocious Curmudgeon has a list of the nominees for the manga category:

Sélection Officielle:

  • Amer Beton – Integrale (Tekkonkinkreet), by Taiyo Matsumoto, published by Tonkam
  • Death Note, by Takeshi Obata and Tsugumi Ohba, published by Kana

Read More »

BRAVE STORY, written by Miyuki Miyabe and published domestically by VIZ, has won the 2008 Batchelder Award by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).

The award, established in 1966, is a citation given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States. The Association for Library Service to Children gives the award to encourage American publishers to seek out superior children's books abroad and to promote communication among the people of the world.

Read More »

PHILADELPHIA - VIZ Media is the winner of the 2008 Mildred L. Batchelder Award for the most outstanding children's book originally published in a foreign language and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States for "Brave Story." The award was announced January 14 during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia, January 11-16.

Read More »

AN reports that the winners of the 7th Annual Japanese Otaku Awards have been announced:

  • Grand Prix: Video-sharing sites (like Nico Nico Douga)
  • Hidekuni Shida Award: The Idolm@ster
  • Dorii Osaki Award: Blade Runner 25th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition
  • Naoki Ishiguro Award: Seto no Hanayome
  • Hisashi Maeda Award: School Days
  • Harayasa Toukaimura Award: Evangelion: 1.0 You Are [Not] Alone
  • Masumi Kurata Award: Kamen Rider Den-O
  • Shunichi Karasawa Award: The UFO debate in the Japanese Parliament
  • Housai Tsuruoka Award: Regular Kyaku no Kobayashi-kun
  • Animedia Award: Yasai no Yousei - N.Y. Salad

Also otaku-related, Danny Choo has a report of police hunting otaku in Akihabara.

TangognaT reports that Nominations for Cybils, a "Children's and YA Bloggers' Literary Awards," have been announced. One manga, Yotsuba&! Volume 4 by Kiyohiko Azuma, was nominated in the Elementary/Middle Grade category.

Via: MangaBlog

VANCOUVER January 7, 2008 - The Producers of the Canadian Awards for the Electronic and Animated Arts (CAEAA) along with their Event Partners Ernst & Young, Electronic Arts (EA), Autodesk, N-GAGE by NOKIA, and the Government of British Columbia are ecstatic to announce Seth MacFarlane as the Host for their 2nd Annual Elan Awards Show on February 15th, 2008 at The Centre in Vancouver for the Performing Arts.

Read More »