Hugo and John W. Campbell Award Nomination Suggestions

Peter Ahlstrom is looking for nomination suggestions for this year's Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer, which will be held in Japan this year.

Eligible works: Works of science fiction/fantasy published for the first time in 2006:

  • Anywhere in the world, or
  • In English, or
  • In the U.S.A.

Hugo Award Categories:

  • Best Novel (40,000 words+)
  • Best Novella (17,500 to 40,000 words)
  • Best Novelette (7,500 to 17,500 words)
  • Best Short Story (less than 7,500 words)
  • Best Related Book (usually non-fiction)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (90 minutes plus--this includes long movies)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (less than 90 minutes--this includes TV episodes, OVA episodes or short movies)
  • Best Professional Editor, Long Form (novels)
  • Best Professional Editor, Short Form (magazines, short stories, anthologies)
  • Best Professional Artist
  • Best Semiprozine
  • Best Fanzine
  • Best Fan Artist

See here for more detailed rules.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Eligible writers:
Anyone whose first professional science fiction/fantasy publication occurred in 2006 or 2005. (Detailed rules here.)

Source: AoD